Kosher for Passover beer is an oxymoron, as all standard beer contains leaven grains. However, Jeremy Sulzbacher had other plans. He has created a Belgium-based (contract) Brewery that brews a gluten-free kosher for Passover beer. What is unique about his gluten-free beer is, that while a lot of gluten-free beers do already exist in the United States. They are made from gluten-free grains such as rice or sorghum. The problem with that is, Jews of Askenazic descent, do not eat those grains on Passover due to their similarity to gluten grains, and are otherwise known as Kitniyos (loosely translated as legumes).
Thererfore Mr. Sulzbacher created a beer from ginger, which besides being gluten-free, is also Kosher for Passover.
Jeremy Sulzbacher, the CGO – Chief Ginger Officer – was inspired to make the Ginger Tipple to drink on Passover when religious Jews cannot drink regular beers. The result is a gluten free beer style drink.
The result of his efforts are:
Ginger Tipple is a zingy and fresh ginger beer fermented with the finest natural gingers and sugars. Each ginger root is peeled and grated by hand. We hand-bottle and the carbonation from the second fermentation in the bottle is natural. Of course, we regularly taste the Ginger Tipple!
He brews 3 other varieties including a light version and a Kreik (cherry) version.
The bad news is, that Jeremy was unable to arrange for distribution to the US in time for Passover 2018, but the beers are available in Kosher Stores in Belgium as he shared on Instagram.
Currently the only way for Americans to buy Ginger Tipple is, through websites that sell Belgian Beer oversees. There is a list of them on Ginger Tipple's website which can be seen here.
Here is to hoping that we can get this amazing product in time for Passover 2019 in Jerusalem!
*Ginger Tipple is certified Kosher for Passover by the OK*